Jalal: Week 7 Readings

Wow, wow, wow. That’s my first reaction as I finished this week’s readings. I feel so silly saying this, but I had NO idea that tech and prof comm was so broad, specific, innovative, traditional, and inclusive. I actually feel a sense of guilt for not having known that TPC included all of these things until I was exposed to them during this semester’s classes. I think it is safe to say I have drank the koolaid and I am now convinced that all “TPCers” wear a secret cape cause like Olivia Pope, they are handling business. If you are not a Scandal fan or have never seen it before and did not get the reference, it comes on Thursday night – I highly recommend it. #TGIT4Eva

Back to the readings. Well, to start things off, this was a great set. Concise, detailed, enlightening, explanatory, clear, innovative, and most importantly, applicable. I absolutely loved the fact that the reading provided me with a historical context regarding the creation of the manuscript as well as many of the topics that were included. In addition, I found the historical background to be inspiring. As lowly grad students, sometimes we may not consider the lasting impact we could have on our field of study and finding out that most of the authors  included in this manuscript were brand new to TPC academia was amazing. Furthermore, I am especially glad that this week’s topic fell right after TPC in international environment…Kirk’s reading was the perfect introduction to this week’s topic and readings. Nice planning, Matt! 🙂

Onto Savage’s foreword. I really appreciated his honesty regarding TPC’s slowness to embrace cultural theories and social justice. I consider admission of shortcomings to be an excellent starting point for any type of progress and am excited to see what more is accomplished by the TPC field moving forward. In addition, Savage did a fine job setting the tone for the manuscript and how it came to fruition. How cool to think that it all started at a conference!

Next, Haas & Eble effectively articulated the contributions of their respective programs, the contents of the manuscript parts and chapters, and the necessities of using social justice frameworks in TPC. I mentioned in my post last week, but culture is an incredibly important and sometimes overlooked piece of communication and I was happy to see that Haas and Eble took things one step further to discuss globalization and internationalization since they have a profound impact on culture as well as TPC.

Regarding Frost’s chapter on apparent feminism and risk communication and for this piece, she used a course on risk communication she taught to argue that apparent feminism plays an essential role in socially just technical communication pedagogies and practices. I was interested in her decision to use apparent feminism in her courses (not in a bad way, more like wow, that’s new and innovative) since I had never seen that done before. I was surprised at some of the challenges she faced in the course (i.e. a student not wanting to use wordpress since it was public), but was not surprised that the course ended up successful and the students gained a lot out of the class since I am taking her for a writing public science and even though I don’t necessarily “love” science (I find aspects of it to be interesting, but I recognize its not my “calling” lol), have found Dr. Frost’s class to be fun, informative, and a great way to explore topics and fields that may not be otherwise.

Social justice is an incredibly important concept that we must all aim to accomplish. In a word of tensions, disagreements, and ridicule over a variety of reasons, making our society just has become not only desired, but necessary in order to prevent any further conflicts. Overall, I walked away feeling more comfortable and inspired knowing that more fields (such as TPC) are investing so heavily in research efforts to accomplish social justice.

P.S. May edit this post in the afternoon as I continue to digest the wealth of information I gained in this week’s readings. Just wanted to provide a heads up in case 🙂

Leave a Reply

