Jalal: Week 8 Readings

Well, for me, this was a more difficult week with the readings. But that may be as a result of being sick earlier this week and the material discussed being concepts that are new to me (for the most part so I did struggle a bit with them. So after re-reading the readings, I have come up with a few thoughts that I wanted to mention.

Let’s start with Cox’s article on Queer Theory. This was an interesting perspective that I was previously not familiar with. Nonetheless, it was an interesting concept to consider. Cox quotes David Halperin, who states that “Queer is by definition whatever is at odds with the normal, the legitimate, the dominant. There is nothing in particular to which it necessarily refers. It is an identity without an essence.” This is interesting. If queer and consequently, queer theory is the anti-normal, then I would think that would cause inconsistency with the concept and theory. The reason why I say this is that what is “normal” is determined by the current status quo and societal preferences. This changes over time and evolves. What was once “normal” at one point in time can be rejected at another. So would that not cause inconsistency? I would think so, but I am interested in knowing if anyone feels the same. I also did catch on to the slow, steady approach to queer theory that did give me a sense that Cox was being careful and strategic in writing this piece. Overall, I would be interested to see how much more common and “drastic” queer theory will be moving forward.

The next article I was drawn to was Hurley’s work on spatial orientations.In this chapter, Hurley aimed to explain how critical spatial perspectives, which can enrich the way technical communication is taught, by paying attention to rhetorics of space, place, and location. I really like the approach used in this piece. It felt like I was learning a lot more about the author that I typically do, which was a nice and welcomed addition. I really aligned with Hurley’s arguments and the topic in general since I do believe fully that spatial orientation has a significant, if not defining, impact on the perspectives we hold and consequently, the way we view respond to things. The concept of spatial orientation is also culturally relevant and provides a strong argument on how spatial orientation, which impacts scholars, will also impact the field of TPC. Broadly speaking, I am curious to see if the concept of spatial orientation will expand across all fields.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

